Date: 15 July 2023
Time: 20:30h
Venue: Pjazza Teatru Rjal
Tickets: €5

José García Gutiérrez Conductor

Malta Youth Orchestra
Malta Philharmonic Orchestra


Franz Schubert Overture from Rosamunde
Albert Garzia For Peace
Camille Saint-Saëns Danse macabre, Op. 40
Aram Khachaturian Adagio of Spartacus and Phrygia form Spartacus
Jacob Abela Waltz
Arturo Márquez Danzón No. 2

The Malta Philharmonic Orchestra and Malta Youth Orchestra join forces under the direction of José García Gutiérrez.

The captivating programme features Schubert’s lyrical entr’acte to Rosamunde, Saint-Saëns’ haunting tone poem Danse Macabre and Khachaturian’s timeless favourite Adagio of Spartacus and Phrygia. Maltese contemporary talent is showcased with two premieres, Albert Garzia’s For Peace, and Waltz by emerging composer Jacob Abela.

The grand finale is a burst of Caribbean dance music with Márquez’s Danzón No. 2, an exhilarating work brimming with Cuban rhythms and percussion.

Skip to content